Ulster County Soil and Water Conservation District

        Every County in New York State has a Soil and Water Conservation District. The State passed enabling legislation for the creation of our agency after Congress, in 1937 established a federal conservation agency to address the nation's problems caused by the "dust bowl".The legislation empowered local soil and water conservation districts to carry out and promote soil and water conservation programs.

        The Ulster County Soil and Water Conservation District was formed by County Resolution in April of 1965. We are goverened by a local Board of Directors appointed by the Ulster County Legislature to oversee programs and staff. Ulster's Board consists of representatives from the County Legislature, Farm Bureau, Grange, and At-Large.

            For over forty years the District has maintained it's long standing tradition as an agency of action: responsible for the direct design and implementation of engineering and agronomic practices intended for the improvement of water quality and the preservation of the County's natural resources, in both rural and urban capacity.

        Our Staff

        Gary Capella

        Executive Director


        Margarete Wagner

        Program Assistant


        Jake Wedemeyer

        District Technician, CCA, CPESC


        Adam Doan

        Ashokan Basin Project Manager


        Bobby Taylor

        CSBI Program Coordinator


        Allison Lent

        Stream Assessment Coordinator


        Tiffany Runge

        Watershed Technician


        USDA NRCS


       Kathleen Capella

       District Conservationist 


       Justin Cooper

       Program Assistant


       Don Shortell

       IT Specialist- OCIO                    



            Board of Directors

             Leonard Tantillo

             Chair - Farm Bureau representative

             Severyn "Joe" Hasbrouck

             Vice Chair - At Large representative

             William Wilklow

             Secretary/Treasurer - Farm Bureau representative

             Fred Van Nostrand

             At Large - Grange representative

              Tracey Bartels, UC Legislator  

              Jim Delaune, UC Legislator




January 2017 Newsletter

Site News & Updates

         Applications for Inclusion into a NYS Certified Agricultural District Now  Available from Ulster County Planning Department

        2017 TREES & SHRUBS    Order Form     Tree Descriptions                

         2017 Fish Sale   6-3-2017            Order  Form   

         NYS Grown & Certified Program                 


NYS DEC  Water Use reporting for Agricultural Facilities

How to Apply for USDA Programs

- Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) offered by USDA

- Stormwater Permitting Reference Center added to Stormwater Erosion & Sediment Control Page

Updated Tractor Safety Information

-Updated copies of The Contractors Blue Book Erosion and Sediment Control Field Note Books are now available.